Functions of Mechnical Branch

Within the Department of Roads, the Mechanical Branch and its units are responsible for the repair and maintenance of equipment and supervision vehicles, procurement of equipment, and manpower training. This Branch is headed by a Deputy Director General (Mechanical) reporting to the Director General.

There are six Heavy Equipment Divisions (HEDs) at Kathmandu, Hetauda, Butwal, Itahari, Nepalgunj, and Godvari. The workshops have covered work bays, machine shops, electrical, welding and fabrication shops and spare parts stores. They are capable of carrying out necessary maintenance, repair and overhaul of construction equipment and supervision vehicles in their region.

In addition, there are nine Mechanical Offices (MOs) located at Kathmandu, Birtamod, Lahan, Janakpur, Bharatpur, Pokhara, Dang, Surkhet and Budar. These are smaller workshops, which carry out repair and maintenance of construction equipment and supervision vehicles in the region.

"To Contribute Towards the Betterment of Living Conditions of the People through Effective, Efficient, Safe and Reliable Road Connectivity"

© 2020 सर्वाधिकार सुरक्षित सडक बिभाग